Built between 1804 and 1837 by James Barton, The Upper Mill still retains an operating water wheel which is
accessible to the public through a free self-guided tour. Run for many years by the Rowe Brothers, The
Upper Mill originally served as a hub to local tradesmen containing wood and metal shops, a black smith and
grist mill; today it is home to boutiques, a café/bakery and bar. It is currently listed on the National Register of
Historic Places and serves well as a lively jocund glimpse into a bygone staple of American life.


Rowes MillJervis Gordon Grist Mill Historic District, also known as Milford Grist Mill and Rowe's Mill,
is a historic grist mill and national historic district located at Milford, Pike County,
Pennsylvania. The district includes three contributing buildings and one contributing
structure. The buildings are a late-19th century grist mill, blacksmith complex, and
millers house. The contributing structure consists of the mill pond, dam, head race,
and tail race. The mill consists of the original two story structure built in 1882, with a
shed addition built in 1904, rear enclosure covering the water wheel, and machine
shop addition dated to about 1908. The mill include original grinding machinery. The
blacksmith complex consists of three sections built between about 1860 and 1870.
The millers house is a wood frame structure dated to the late-18th century, with a
two-story addition built in the early- to mid-19th century. The Mill was added to the
National Register of Historic Places in 1985.


The Jervis Gordon Grist Mill, the one now known as the Upper Mill, Original Millwas first built in stages between 1804 and 1837. After a fire destroyed it in 1881, it was rebuilt the following year, with improvements, by Jervis Gordon. By this time, the Upper Mill was annually producing great quantities of animal feed, corn meal, buckwheat flour (a specialty of the area), wheat flour and rye flour. This mill was in operation for the entire year, unlike some mills that ran only part of the year either for lack of water or because of ice. The average workday was 12 hours and skilled workers were paid about $2 per day.


Subsequent to Gordon's tenure, there have been several owners of the mill; modern technology and natural disaster put an end to the milling at the Upper Mill in the late 1950s. In 1984, the Water Wheel Group bought the mill and restored the parts of the milling system for educational activities. The mill is on the National Historic Register.


Today, the Upper Mill, with its functioning waterwheel, is open to visitors with a self-guided tour. Water rushes over
the three story high waterwheel, driving a series of shafts, gears, pulleys and belts that power the stones and grain
milling equipment, all visible through the glass wall of the WaterWheel Café. The tour enables visitors to understand
the whole fascinating process – grinding of grain by the power of falling water.

 

 

Copyright © 2018 The Upper Mill Tour. Design by Black Crown Designs